What I’m Doing 2

That’s right, kids; it’s time for your quasi-semimonthly dose of stuff I like.

What I’m listening to:

Astral Weeks by Van Morrison

This album is freaking amazing.  I’ve always liked Van Morisson, but never really got the chance to get into so much of his stuff.  This past week I was able to get a bunch of Van’s albums onto my iPod and spent a four-hour drive listening to just him.

Astral Weeks spoke to me in a way that no other album has for a very long while.  The music is so soulful that it’s almost haunting and the expressive lyrics seem more like genuine poetry than just words to a song–something I cannot say about 99 percent of the music out there.  This stuff speaks directly to the English major in me.

I would love to comment on each of the album’s 8 songs, but that would require its own post.  In any case though, with its soulful wailing and vivid imagery, “Sweet Thing” just might be the best love song ever.

What an album.  If you aren’t familiar, get there.  I don’t see myself getting sick of this one anytime soon.

What I’m eating:

Black beans.  Those folks out in the southwest have the right idea; this is a bandwagon worth jumping on. My favorite two uses are in a warm salad with corn, avocado, and grilled chicken with a tangy lime-chile dressing and in a homemade black bean dip for tortilla chips.

What I’m watching:

Weeds, Season 1 DVD.

Now that I’m done with The Office, I needed a new TV show.  I think I’ve found it in Weeds.  I’ve got to hand it to the people behind the show for making a show about a mom who sells pot, well, actually good.  Mary-Louise Parker is incredible, and not only because she reminds me of a better-acting version of Lauren Graham.  Not only does it manage to be so incredibly fresh and funny, but it even maintains a pretty high level of drama that unlike so many other dramedies nowadays is actually credible.

2 Comments

Filed under What I'm Doing

2 responses to “What I’m Doing 2

  1. shua

    It’s nice that you’re giving people a heads up not to sit too close to you by telling them that you’re eating lots of beans. I might try breaking out a can on a crowded bus to get myself some extra space.

  2. Avi

    It’s sweet of you to make grilled chicken with a tangy lime-chile dressing and in a homemade black bean dip for little grandmas.

Leave a Reply

